The Blogisattva Awards, begun by Tom Armstrong several years ago to recognize excellence in Buddhist blogging, have been revived by Kyle of The Reformed Buddhist and Nate of Precious Metal. You can nominate a particular blog, blogger, or blogpost for any one fo the following categories:

  • Blog of the year, Svaha!
  • Best Post of the Year
  • Best Achievement in Skilled Writing
  • Best Achievement Blogging on Buddhist Practice or Dharma
  • Best Buddhist Practice Blog
  • Best “Life” Blog
  • Best Blogging on Matters Philosophical, Psychological or Scientific
  • Best Achievement in Kind and Compassionate Blogging
  • Best Achievement Blogging Opinion Pieces or about Political Issues
  • Best Engage-the-World Blog
  • Best Achievement in Design
  • Best Achievement in Wide Range of Topic Interests Blogging
  • Best Achievement with Humor in a Blog Post

Check out some past winners from 2006, 2007 and 2008. Submit your nominations here. There are many, many Buddhist blogs out there (Kyle is up to 180 and he’s not done counting yet) and ideally the Blogisattvas would be awarded to less well known blogs and bloggers that may reach fewer readers but are still moving, excellent, brilliant, and/or hilarious. Take a minute to think about a blogpost you’ve read this year (the official time frame upon with the awards will be given is December 1, 2009 to November 1, 2010) and nominate that blogger for his or her hard work. it only takes a minute, and can really make a difference to someone working hard every day with little recognition.